Endultra Technologyt Advertisement

Karnataka’s Secular Govt. in Crisis: Who all legislatures resigned?

Bengaluru: A total of eleven legislatures of the ruling JD(S) & Congress alliance in Karnataka submitted their resignation at the Speaker’s office on Saturday, putting a question mark on the survival of the 13-month-old Kumaraswamy led secular government in the state.

Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar confirmed that 11 MLAs have submitted their resignations in the evening – eight from the Congress and three from the JD(S).

“11 of them have submitted resignation letters. I told officials to take the letters and issue acknowledgement…on Tuesday I will go to office and take further action in accordance with rules,” Kumar told reporters.

The MLAs held a Pdyatra to the Raj Bhavan and met Governor Vajubhai Vala after submitting their resignations.

H Vishwanath, a senior JD(S) MLA who resigned, claimed a total of 14 MLAs put in their papers today, but this number has not been confirmed

Here are the Congress and JD(S) MLAs who submitted their resignations:

Ramalinga Reddy (BTM Layout)
Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak)
Pratapgauda Patil (Maski)
B.C. Patil (Hirekerur)
Shivram Hebbar (Yellapur)
Mahesh Kumatahalli (Athani)
S.T Somashekar (Yeshvantpur)
S.N. Subba Reddy (KGF in Kolar)

A H Vishwanath (Hunsur)
Narayana Gowda (K R Pet)
Gopalaiah (Mahalakshmi

Three more Congress legislators, including Reddy’s daughter Soumya (Jayanagar), Byarthi Basavaraj (K.R. Puram) and Munirathna (R.R. Nagar) were also reportedly set to resign.

The JD(S)-Congress coalition’s total strength, including those who have put in their papers, is 118 (Congress-78, JD(S)-37, BSP-1 and Independents-2), besides the Speaker. The BJP has 105 MLAs in the House, where half-way mark is 113.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Endultra Technologyt Advertisement
To Top
WhatsApp Join WhatsApp Group